Personnel, Management and Administration

At the end of the period, the total number of Group personnel was 982, representing a decrease of 193 employees or 16.4 per cent compared to the end of 2011 (1,175). During the reporting period the number of employees averaged 1,025, a decrease of 428 employees or 29.5 per cent from the 2011 average (1,453).

Employee indicators:

  2012 2011 2010
Average number of personnel 1,025 1,453 1,508
Wages and salaries  54,028 68,564 65,172

Employees by function, year-end 2012:

Business units 96%
Administration and management 4%

As of the end of the period, 195 (12/2011: 161) employees were working abroad.

The Digia Plc Annual General Meeting of 13 March 2012 re-elected Robert Ingman, Kari Karvinen, Pertti Kyttälä and Tommi Uhari as members of the Board. Päivi Hokkanen, Seppo Ruotsalainen and Leena Saarinen were elected as new members. At the organisation meeting of the Board, Pertti Kyttälä was elected Chairman of the Board and Robert Ingman Vice Chairman.

Juha Varelius has been Digia Plc’s President and CEO since 1 January 2008.

Anja Wasenius started as Acting CFO in June 2012.

In 2012, Digia’s Board of Directors had three committees: the Compensation Committee, the Audit Committee, and the Nomination Committee. The Board approved the rules of procedure for 2012 of the committees in a meeting of 29 March 2012.

These committees do not hold powers of decision or execution; their role is to assist the Board in decision-making concerning their areas of expertise. The committees report regularly on their work to the Board, which has decision-making and collegial responsibility over their actions.

The Compensation Committee's task is to prepare and follow management remuneration schemes in order to ensure that the company's targets are met, that the objectivity of decision-making is maintained, and that the schemes are transparent and systematic. In 2012, the Compensation Committee comprised Tommi Uhari (chairman), Robert Ingman and Päivi Hokkanen. Until the 2012 AGM, the Committee’s members were Martti Mehtälä (chairman), Pekka Sivonen and Tommi Uhari. The committee convened four times in 2012, with full attendance.

The purpose of the Audit Committee is to assist the Board of Directors in ensuring that the company's financial reporting, accounting methods, financial statements and other financial information provided by the company are in accordance with the law, balanced, transparent and clear. In 2012 the Audit Committee was made up of Pertti Kyttälä (Chairman), Kari Karvinen, Seppo Ruotsalainen and Leena Saarinen. Until the AGM, the members were Pertti Kyttälä (Chairman), Kari Karvinen and Marjatta Virtanen. The committee convened five times in 2012, with full attendance.

The Nomination Committee will prepare proposals for the Annual General Meeting of the shareholders concerning (a) the number of members of the Board of Directors, (b) the members of the Board of Directors, (c) the remuneration for the Chairman, Vice Chairman and members of the Board of Directors and (d) the remuneration for the Chairman and members of the committees of the Board of Directors. In 2012, the Nomination Committee members were Robert Ingman (chairman), Kari Karvinen and Pertti Kyttälä. The committee convened four times with full attendance.

Ernst & Young Oy, authorised public accountants, are the Group’s auditors, with Authorised Public Accountant Heikki Ilkka as the principal auditor.

Digia adheres to the Governance Code for Listed Finnish Companies, issued on 1 October 2010 by the Finnish Securities Market Association. Digia’s corporate governance system is based on the Companies Act, the Securities Markets Act, general corporate governance recommendations, and the company’s Articles of Association and in-company rules and regulations on corporate governance. The Governance Code and a separate review of the Group's corporate governance and management system made for this annual report can be seen at